Books to read- 15 of my favorite kids books

I love to read and it’s a skill/hobby I hope to pass down to my daughter. I hope someday she loves to get lost in a book, travel different places, and meet thousands of characters. I don’t think it’s ever too early to start reading to kids and even if I’m just reading a book aloud and she’s running around, at least she hears words. But here are 15 of my favorite kids books…

1. The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt (Author) and Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)  – It’s actually very funny, each page is a letter written to Duncan, a little boy who just wants to color, about why that crayon quit.

2. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein – If you ever want a good cry, read this. The first time I read this book, I was reading it aloud to a group of 3 year olds, and starting crying because I was at work and my daughter was at home with my husband. It’s about a little boy and a tree and as time passes he asks more and more of the tree.   “… and she loved a boy very, very much– even more than she loved herself.” ― Shel Silverstein, The Giving Tree

3. A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon – It’s about a little girl who worries too much about what everyone else thinks. It’s a good message and adorable.

4. Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace – Little pea is forced to eat all his candy before he can have vegetables for dessert!

5. I also love all the “If You Give a …” series. One of my favorites though is If You Give a Moose a Muffin by Laura Numeroff (Author) and Felicia Bond (Illustrator). It explains the cycle that will be started if you give a moose a muffin. It’s also a great excuse to make muffins and eat them while reading this book.

6. I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato by Lauren Child. This is a super cute book about eating your vegetables, siblings, and using your imagination.

7. Click, Clack, Moo Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin (Author) and Besty Lewin (Illustrator). A story about Farmer Brown’s cows start leaving him notes that have demands!

8. The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith. The wolf gets to tell his side of the story in this version of the classic tale, turns out he might not be so big and bad after all.

9. The Monster at the End of This Book by Jon Stone and Michael Smollin. Grover from Sesame Street is in this book and the anticipation grows with every page, Grover begs you to stop reading and to NOT turn the page!

10. Sideways Stories from Wayside School by Louis Sachar. This is for older kids, but it seriously hilarious. It was always one of my favorite books in elementary school. It’s so silly and wacky and who doesn’t love hearing your kids giggle to a funny story?!

11. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner. I would repeatedly check this book out from the bookmobile. I loved that these kids made a life for themselves in a boxcar!

12. The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister. It’s a book about sharing and friendship. It is the first book I remember being read to me as a child. The message is good and the pictures are beautiful.

13.  Children Make Terrible Pets by Peter Brown. While I agree with the title, especially with toddlers, it’s an adorable book! It’s about a little bear who find a child and keeps him as a pet, but finds out that it can sometimes be a lot of work.

14. The Frog Prince, Continued by Jon Scieszka. The end of The Frog Prince said “they lived happily ever after” but what if they didn’t? A super cute read with a good message.

15. What Really Happened To Humpty? by Jeanie Franz Ransom. We all know the nursery rhyme about Humpty, but why did he fall off the wall? A detective tries to crack the case.

Leave a Reply

